Podagrammisch Trostbücklein. Innhaltend zwo artlicher Schutz Reden von herzlicher ankunfft, Geschlecht, Hoffhaltung, Nutzbarkeit und tieffgesuchtem lob dess Hochgelehrten, Gliedermächtigen und zarten fräwlins Podagra. Nun erstmals zu Kitzeligem Trost und ergetzung andächtiger Pfotengrammuscher Personen, oder Handkrämpffigen und Futzverstrickten Kämpffern lustig und wacker (wie ein Hund auff dem Lotterbet) bossiert unnd publiciert. Durch I.F.G.M.

Woodcut vignette on title, printed in red & black. 96 unnumbered leaves (final two leaves blank, signature F bound after G), 8vo, attractive antique calf-backed paste-paper boards, spine gilt, red morocco lettering piece on spine. Strasbourg: T. Jobin, 1604.

Fourth edition, enlarged. The first edition appeared in 1577, a second in 1591, a third in 1597, and a fifth edition in 1623. Fischart (1546-90), was a German satirist and the principal German literary opponent of the Counter-Reformation. Indefatigable with his pen, he attacked all perversities in the public and private life of his time: astrological superstition, scholastic pedantry, ancestral pride, but especially the papal dignity, the priesthood, and the Jesuits.

This long encomium on gout (“Book of Comfort in Gout”), written in the tradition of Pirckheimer, Cardano, and Fleissner, attempts to console the victims of the disease through the power of laughter. Fischart wrote under many feigned names, here “I.F.G.M.” or “Im Fischen gilt’s Mischen.”

The vignette on the title-page depicts a man afflicted by gout, held up by crutches, being tempted by two companions offering him food and drink.

Fine copy. All early editions are very rare.

❧ Copeman, A Short History of the Gout and the Rheumatic Diseases, pl. 5–(depicting the title-page of the first edition, with another version of the same vignette, and describing this work as “the earliest printed book on gout”).

Price: $1,950.00

Item ID: 6568

See all items in Literature, Medicine
See all items by